Geneseo History 1881-1890

1886

Bigger Classes, Bigger Footprint

The Training School was added to the back (west) end of the Normal Hall.

1886

Bigger Classes, Bigger Footprint

1885–86

More Grads

The normal school graduated its first class of over 50 students at 58.

1885–86

More Grads

1888

Emmeline the Bear

Emmeline the Bear statue

An iconic feature of Geneseo village is Emmeline, the bear statue sitting atop a fountain on Main Street. Built by brothers William Austin and Herbert Wadsworth to honor their mother, the fountain originally served as a watering hole for thirsty horses. For much of the mid-20th century, the fountain served as a traffic control device, complete with signs and flashing lights.

(Photo courtesy APOG)

1888

Emmeline the Bear

1889

John M. Milne Named Principal

John Milne

William Milne resigned to accept the presidency of the State Normal College at Albany. He was succeeded by his brother, John M. Milne, a teacher of Greek and Latin at Geneseo since 1872. In 1966, the two were honored with the opening of the current William S. and John M. Milne Library, which was built just to the north of where Old Main once stood.

(The Lamron, 50th Anniversary)

1889

John M. Milne Named Principal

1890–91

100-Grad Graduation

1891 faculty

The normal school graduated its first class of over 100 students with 105 degree holders.

The 1891 faculty (The Lamron, 50th Anniversary)

1890–91

100-Grad Graduation